CLASSIC VIDEO: Spice 1 – “Welcome To The Ghetto” (1992)

“Death don’t care about ya color
But yet I see mo dead young brothas
I’m goin crazy out here
Seein 24 brothas die by the end of the year”

This is a great  example of gangsta/reality rap being socially conscious without gloryfying the conditions.  Spice’s 3rd verse is probably my favorite:

 

Ain’t no justice it’s just us
And every brother with the guts lust to bust
At the police ’cause we can’t get peace
Sending troops to the ghetto like the Middle East
My homie on the block got beat down
And he never sold a ounce, a key, a pound
Suicide was the notion
Sometimes I wanna run and dive in the ocean
But killing myself ain’t the answer
‘Cause the problems of the world need a cure like cancer
And everybody sees the problem but the President
But he ain’t living in the ghetto so it’s evident
I quit pulling over for the police
‘Cause they beat Rodney King like a savage beast
Now my brothers on the block think it’s glock time
Open up season on cop time
So welcome to the ghetto
Where you straight get played out like a cello
The Mayor got the projects boarded up
And the whites and the blacks are sorted up
My people living in poverty
And every time I wanna max I’m on somebody property
Make me wanna get the gat too
And peel a cap too
But I ain’t down for the tattoo–tears
Spending years in the P-E-N
And I’m just another brother in the wind
No love in the ghetto see
1-87 thousand G….

  

CAMEO ALERT: Richie Rich

 

Leave a Reply

