CLASSIC CUT: Kanye West – Self Conscious (Live on Def Poetry Jam) (2003)

“That major that she majored in don’t make no money…told me she major in TV”

“This morn I spent alotta time tryna pickin out my outfit cause I’m really into clothes. I’mma be the best dressed rapper in the game”

This is before College Dropout and the Kanye I miss. Ye would later use this poem for his hit song “All Falls Down.” Even Mos knew he was the future of hip-hop. My first MP3 data disc CD I made back in ’03 was full of Kanye’s mixtape material and this performance was on it. Shame he went from one of my favorites to now letting the game change him and become exactly what he talked about in this poem.

Leave a Reply

