CLASSIC CUT: Tha Dogg Pound – New York, New York (1995)

“It like New York’s been soft ever since Snoop came through and crushed the buildings” – Jay-Z on “Money Cash Hoes”

Dope song but that’s besides the point: This is the best diss video of all-time! Especially when you remember that this was shot IN NEW YORK at the height of the whole Death Row vs Bad Boy fued. The DPG & Death Row absolutely pulled they pants down and dumped on NYC for 5 straight minutes. They even brought the low-riders out and rode them around the city lol. Crazy part was that they weren’t even going to knock the building over until their trailer was shot at during the filming. Kurupt was a absolute monster back in the 90s and my favorite lyricist back then.

CLASSIC ALBUM: Gil Scott-Heron – Pieces Of A Man


1. “The Revolution Will Not Be Televised” 3:09
2. “Save the Children” 4:28
3. “Lady Day and John Coltrane” 3:37
4. “Home Is Where the Hatred Is” 3:22
5. “When You Are Who You Are” 3:23
6. “I Think I’ll Call It Morning” 3:31
7. “Pieces of a Man” 4:55
8. “A Sign of the Ages” 4:03
9. “Or Down You Fall” 3:14
10. “The Needle’s Eye” 4:51
11. “The Prisoner” 9:26

Pieces of a Man is the debut studio album of American soul artist and jazz poet Gil Scott-Heron, released in 1971 in stereo format on Flying Dutchman Records in the United States. It was also issued in the United Kingdom on Philips Records in 1972. Recording sessions for the album took place at RCA Studios in New York City on April 19 and 20 in 1971. The album serves as the follow-up to Scott-Heron’s live debut album, Small Talk at 125th and Lenox (1970), and it features compositions by Scott-Heron that were recorded in a more conventional song structure rather than the spoken word style of his previous work.